Etching away my spare time.

When time permits I like to indulge myself and do some etching (example above) or block printing. I got into printing at art school when, due to everyone wanting to do the ceramic elective, I lost a lottery and ended up in the printing elective. Turns out it was a win instead of a lose….just like my number not coming up in the 1969 National Service conscription lottery.

I really like  the magic of pulling the first print from an etched plate. Although you have a good idea about what to expect there’s alway something there you hadn’t. I also don’t mind playing with acid and getting my hands dirty. My wife does though.

Leave a Reply

