The Ridgy Didge Surf Club.

A couple of years ago I decided to catch up on doing some etching. I had an idea to do a ‘book’ of images based on my memories of my surfing days back in the 1960’s. I recently found a number of the sketches I did for the prints and have decided to bore you with a few over the next couple of weeks. Here are the first couple.

I surfed with four friends and we jokingly reffered to ourselves as the Ridgy Didge Surf club.

My first introduction to surfing was at a beach in South Australia called Moana. I spent more time in the water than on the board but it still ranks as one of the best days in my life.

4 responses to “The Ridgy Didge Surf Club.

  1. ROGER JOHANSON

    I love the character of your quick, loose sketches. That quality seems to disipate so quickly for many of us as we approach our ‘final’ drawings. I guess it’s risky to publish loose drawings, but no risk, no reward? I’d love to see more.

    • Thanks Roger. I agree, sketching ideas and thoughts without any concern for rightness, wrongness, neatness and so on is so much fun and the quality somehow disappears to a large degree in final artwork.
      I was lucky enough to vist a Picasso museum in Paris and found his sketches and sketch books on dispaly more interesting than his paintings.

  2. I agree, and love the sketch work. The genius to bringing feeling and depth with just a few lines…..it’s the art of when to stop 🙂
    Love your work, John.

Leave a Reply

